The aim of the Working Group on Restorative Cities is to bring together different local experiences which have the intention of creating a cultural change with citizens who are empowered in their conflict resolution skills and decision making. Restorative Cities aim at disseminating restorative values (inclusion, participation, respect, responsibility, solidarity, truth seeking, etc.) in different settings where conflict may occur, such as families, schools, neighbourhoods, sport organisations, work places, intercultural communities, etc. The final goal is to strengthen relationships, encourage active citizenship and look at conflict as an opportunity for change, rather than a threat.

Watch here the short film “Building Restorative Cities” (English subtitles)

Como, 11 January 2019

Brief history of this Working Group

The EFRJ has been included in the development of different Restorative City projects since June 2018, when a group of practitioners and researchers gathered together in a workshop session which took place during our 10th international conference in Tirana. From that moment on, there has been a clear need to bring together all these local Restorative City initiatives and create a safe space for connecting, reflecting, and dreaming. In the beginning of 2019, the EFRJ co-organised the seminar “Building Restorative Cities” (Como, 10-12 January 2019) and formally established the Working Group on Restorative Cities, composed by EFRJ members involved in the Restorative Cities of Bristol, Como, Leuven, Mentana, Palermo and Tempio Pausania. Representatives of other Restorative Cities also cooperate with this Working Group on a regular basis (e.g. Brighton, Utrecht, Leeds). A short film was produced after this first meeting.

Working Group on Restorative Cities

Chair: Grazia Mannozzi, CESGREM – Como Cittá Riparativa
Vice-chair: Gian Luigi Lepri – Tempio Pausania Cittá Riparativa

Secretariat representative: Emanuela Biffi, EFRJ communications & events officer
Board representative: Patrizia Patrizi, Sassari University (Italy)


  • Ivo Aertsen – Leuven Restorative City
  • Bruna Dighera – ConTatto, Como Cittá Riparativa
  • Claudio Fontana, CESGREM – Como Cittá Riparativa
  • Mauro Giardini, C.E.A.S. – Mentana Cittá Riparativa
  • Marian Liebmann – Bristol Restorative City
  • Anna Robino, Spondé – Palermo Cittá Riparativa
  • Chris Straker – UK RJ Council
  • Lies Van Cleynenbreugel – Leuven Restorative City

For more information please contact the EFRJ Secretariat and the Chair of the Working Group. Click here to know more about the Restorative City Working Group (local projects and members).

An article is published on the first issue of the EFRJ Newsletter 2019, due in March.