RJ Award 2016

Reception at the City Hall in Leiden

In the year 2010, in celebration of its 10th anniversary, the EFRJ launched the ‘European Restorative Justice Award‘. The award is dedicated to recognize and celebrate outstanding contributions by individuals, groups or organizations, to the development of RJ within Europe. Laureates are nominated by the Board of the EFRJ upon proposals submitted by the EFRJ membership. The award is granted every second year and handed over in a public ceremony during the regular international conferences of the EFRJ.

On 22 June evening, after the mayor of Leiden welcomed the participants of the EFRJ conference 2016 at the town hall, the Board announced the winner of the 4th European RJ Award, John Blad, associate professor in Criminal Law science at the Law School of Erasmus University Rotterdam (The Netherlands). Previous award holders are Ivo Aertsen- Belgium (2010), Martin Wright- United Kingdom (2012), and Christa Pelikan- Austria (2014).

John Blad received his award from the Vice-Chair of the EFRJ Board, Annemieke Wolthuis (see picture below). You can download here Annemieke Wolthuis´s speech and John Blad’s words of thanks.

John Blad and Annemieke Wolthuis